The Blogging Parlour

I think I have some biscuit crumbs down my trousers.

Smingleigh Family Wisdom

HeaderBuffySmingleigh

Historical Note: A Rock Paper Shotgun commenter who rejoices in the name “Lambchops” asked the following question: “Also quick straw poll here, which one of the RPS writers is “the hot one?”

I’ll always remember the day when my father, Lord Arbuthnot “Buffy” Smingleigh, took me to one side and laid out the most important rule in life.

“Cuthbert”, he said, “There is only one fact you need to know. There is never any games journalist sexier than the one in front of you right now. You can’t fake it, you can’t lie. Just believe there are no other games journalists – put them out of your mind, they don’t exist. Even if there are other games journalists, they can’t hold a candle to the one you’re with, because the second he or she gets a sniff that they’re not number one, you’ll find yourself alone in that bed, reviewing games on your own.”

That was shortly before the unfortunate hunting incident in which he shot himself in the foot when one of his boots showed Bolshevik tendencies. My father was a wise man. He was as mad as a box of weasels, of course, but he was wise in his own way.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Smingleigh Family Wisdom

  1. To the desk of Sir Custard Smingleigh,

    I have taken the liberty of repeating your missives through my own channels. Though not as comfortable as a true Blogging Parlour I can invite others into, it does the job while I’m away from my permanent residence.

    I look forward to further correspondence with you, in particular I intend to stop by your parlour on a regular basis in the future.

    Sincerely yours,
    Gwathdring

    • P.S. I nearly forgot! The channels I’m referring to: http://gwathdring.tumblr.com/. I have sent a few individuals your way with warnings about the gardener. I hope you don’t mind. I shall desist at once if you do.

      • Gwathdring,

        I am most pleased to hear of your enjoyment of my writing. I write to be read, and you are welcome to reblog my words. I only ask that you provide a link to my Blogging Parlour when you do so, so that readers who wish may find the rest of my works.

        Failure to comply with this will result in Smiggs the gardener being told your name and being dispatched to wreak my vengeance with his pruning shears.

        Yrs. Sncr. &c,
        Smingleigh

What's that? Speak up now!

